The Garden of Earthly Delights

earthly delights 72dpi

I saw this painting a long time ago on a student trip to Madrid and though I enjoyed it, I was distracted by the possibility of seeing Guernica and all the Goyas that the Prado holds.

Today I booked tickets to go and see the forthcoming Hieronymus Bosch exhibition in his home town that will commemorate 500 years since his death. I also drew two 20 x 20 cm panels of the painting to go with two I’d drawn a couple of weeks ago. Above you can see how they fit into the picture as a whole.

My plan is to keep making the drawings and to add them to the image above, like I’ve been doing with the collaborative drawing project. Over time I’ll hopefully complete a drawn version of Bosch’s masterpiece.

If you click on the image you should be able to see it much larger and can then move around the image to scrutinise it more closely.

At the moment I’m not entirely sure why I’m making this, but as I work I am confident that this will become clearer. Periodically I will post a new entry with my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

