Guernica / Earthly Delights

guernica earthly combine72dpi

I’m still searching for a title for this piece, but that’s okay as it’s still a long way from finished. As mentioned in a couple of posts below, I’m drawing two works that are held in the Prado Museum that I saw as an undergraduate a long time ago: Picasso’s Guernica and Bosch’s The Garden of Earthly Delights. Click on the image above for a closer look.

Both are iconic works and, it turns out, roughly the same proportions (though Guernica is much, much bigger).

I’m making complete copies of both work as 2400 mm x 1200 mm multi-panel drawings. As is my wont, I’m posting the two drawings as works-in-progress online (here and on facebook) to acknowledge the making process. I’m thinking that when the two sets of panels (seventy-two for each image) are complete I’ll try and show the images in partial form, allowing it to be shown simultaneously in more than one venue (though I have nothing planned) or as combined images with panels from each forming a fragmented and awkward image. The thing is, I need to make all of the panels first. Not sure why, but it seems like an imperative.

I’ve included in the image above a pale reminder of the undrawn panels.

Leave a Reply

