The morning after the night before, inevitably

I’m writing this in a room at Bankside House B+B / Hall of Residence just around the corner from the Jerwood Space near Tate Modern after the opening of the Jerwood Drawing Prize last night. In the picture above you can see my entry through a forest of people. It’s the only picture I took as it was packed. I was lucky enough to be awarded one of the two student prizes which precipitated some nice comments from people after the presentation both in person and online. If you said something, or tweeted, or retweeted, or ‘liked’ a facebook post, then thank you. 

Aside from being in it, I recommend the show. It opens today and runs until mid-October. It then moves around the south of England (sadly no jaunt north this year, which is a real shame). If you’re in the north, then seeing the show in the Jerwood Space might be your best bet.

I was delighted – not having anyone accompanying me to the opening – to be recognised by Daniel Crawshaw (and his lovely partner Harriet) who was in the year below me at Leicester Polytechnic a million years ago. He’d spotted my name and may well have been on the look out for me. He had a piece in the show that I had spotted and liked, which is always a relief. His work is just about the only non-rectangle in the show. Within moments of the show opening someone had tweeted about it. The medium is ‘nail on found object’. 

Moonshine – Daniel Crawshaw

 

I had the pleasure to meet Alison Carlier, too who let me bend her ear about her winning entry from last year. It’s nice to find out that your hunches about an art work are in line with their intentions and preoccupations.

The highlight of the night (aside from winning and all that) was the speech given by the wnner of the over all prize, Thomas Harrison. He walked up to the podium looking visibly shocked and said, dazed, ‘I’m a student. This is weird’, and walked off. He was stood next to me and had a thouand yard stare. Good for him. Here’s a tweet with a detail of his work in it:

Thomas Harrison – From Andrew’s Flat, Singapore

The other student prize winner was Lois Langold whose work Pelvis is exquisite. I don’t want to steal an uncredited image, but it can be found on thie Culture24 website, along with a still from the second prize winning work, a video called Unconditional Line by Elisa Alaluusua (who I didn’t meet, sadly).

Along with, I think, the other winners, I will be back at the Jerwood Space on Friday September 25th to do an ‘in conversation’ event.

Phew. I’m off for some breakfast…

 

Leave a Reply

