COLLABORATIVE DRAWING

 

gridded image - work in progress

A couple of weeks ago I asked (on my Facebook page) if anyone wanted to take part in a collaborative project. Lots of people signed up and I sent them a couple of square images to draw. As they get returned to me I’m assembling the image here (a bit like the Translation Games I was involved in earlier in the year).

Here’s the instructions that each participant was sent along with the two images:

Thanks for volunteering to take part in this experiment. In addition to this sheet is a PDF of the two images that I want you to draw. You can use any style / technique you like (line, tone, or a combination of the two) but I would like you to stick to the limitations specified in the list below. This will allow your drawing to integrate more easily with the others.

I don’t know exactly where I’m going with this. Initially it’s a digital project, so the drawings will stay in your possession and I’ll display it on my Facebook artist’s page and on my blog: https://bryaneccleshall.wordpress.com/.

If I end up assembling it in the real world we can talk about it.

  • Each drawing should be 12 inches x 12 inches. This will make the final piece eight feet by six feet.
  • I have added a white 6 x 6 grid to help you transfer the image across. It’s the method I use to make my own work. The grid is not part of the image that you’re drawing. There’s a Youtube tutorial on using a grid to transfer an image. I’m sure you’ve done this before, but here it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LJF8OTG3N4
  • Use whatever paper you like but I’d like the drawing bit to be monochrome. Pencil, charcoal, graphite, chalk, black and white pastel, or paint. That sort of thing.
  • You’ve got two images to draw, that’s because part of the drawing has some boring sections, so I’ve paired ‘boring’ with ‘interesting’. The bits you’ve got could belong to any part of the master drawing so make sure they’re on separate bits of paper.
  • When you’ve completed the drawings take a good photograph/scan of it and send it to my email address (redacted). Please send it at a reasonably high resolution.
  • Please don’t send anything physical to me until I get in touch.
  • If for some reason you can’t complete the work, let me know so that I can re-assign the work.
  • There’s no deadline, but it would be lovely to see work rolling during September / October.

Any questions, feel free to drop me a line.

Thanks for taking part,

Bryan

1 thought on “COLLABORATIVE DRAWING”

Leave a Reply

