A Summary of Work…

It’s been a while since I last posted anything on here. That’s not because I’ve nothing to say, but because I’ve been busy with all sorts of stuff. I thought I’d take a few minutes to summarise my practice at the moment with a few links to where it can be seen and to bookmark a few posts on this blog that keep getting hits…

  • Digital Rain
    • While I am still making monochrome pencil drawings I have been working on a series of digital collages that I impulsively called Digital Rain. I did post them on here to begin with, but I was making two or three a day and it was turning into a chore. I have revived by instagram account which is probably the best place to see them. I also post them on twitter, but mixed in with all sorts of other stuff. A couple of recent images sit at the head of this post. The work emerges form the Sans Terre work I make with Chris Graham and is concerned with refugees, art history, Beyoncé, dystopian science-fiction, religion, and loads more. I’m not thinking too hard when I make individual pieces as I see them as being in conversation with one another and what is clear in one piece is muddy in another. They are yet to be exhibited.
  • Radio Four Appearance
    • A couple of weeks ago I was interviewed for a BBC Radio Four programme about copyright. It can be listened to through the BBC iPlayer on this page. I’m on close to the end, but it’s a fascinating meditation on the fitness of copyright law (or rather the lack of it) in the digital age. Recommended, even if I had nothing to do with it. Listen here. In the programme Richard Taylor refers to my prize-winning drawing, After Joseph Beuys’s Wirtschaftswerte (Economic Values). You can read more about it here and see it below.

After Joseph Beuys Wirtschaftswerte II

  • 365 Project Advice
    • My advice for starting a 365 drawing project keeps getting referred to and you can find it here.
  • Antoine Berman’s Twelve Deforming Tendencies of Translation
    • The most popular post I’ve ever written is this one, concerned with the text that was the course of my Ph.D. research. I suspect that people click on and then click off. I probably ought to expand it. I will be writing a version of my findings as a chapter of a book. That’s likely to be the reason I disappear from view in June and July.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

